About Us

The goal of the transportation department is to provide the safest, most reliable means of transportation possible for our students to and from school.  Contact Derek Hadley,  MCSS Transportation Director, 229-321-7002  or email: [email protected] Purchasing/Bookkeeper:  Adolyn Whitmire (229-321-7031 Extension 1023) Secretary: Marilyn Magelund (229-321-7002)

MCHS Transportation Department Receives
Blue Ribbon Pupil Transportation Safety Award
Derek Hadley, MCHS Transportation Director, said, “As the Transportation Director of Mitchell County School System, it was a honor to received the Blue Ribbon Pupil Transportation Safety Award from Richard Woods, our State School Superintendent of Georgia. I accepted it on behalf of the Mitchell County School System and on behalf of the Bus Drivers Transportation Department. The bus drivers of Mitchell County School System are the best drivers around. All the drivers work hard to make sure the students of Mitchell County schools are transported safety to and from school. The drivers attend different trainings yearly, such as social emotional training, state mandated certification training, and safety training. The bus drivers participated in a bus rollover drill in partnership with local EMS, local fire/rescue, police, high-school students and the Mitchell County Hospital. Students practice evacuation drills during their physical education classes during the first 45 days of school. A mentoring program utilizes veteran bus drivers, who are paired with first-and second-year drivers to ensure a focus on safety. This program also helps retain drivers.  As the Director of Transportation, it gives me great pleasure to work with a supper group of drivers. They go out their way to support the education of the students of Mitchell County Schools. The bus drivers are the first faces our kids see in the morning to encourage them to be the best in their school activities. I ask of you when you see bus drivers of Mitchell County School System thank them for the job that they do to make sure the kids of Mitchell County Schools are safe. I Derek Hadley The Director of Transportation Mitchell County Schools give honor the Mitchell County School System’s Bus Drivers. Thank you."