Mitchell County Schools

Skip to main content
About Us » About Us

About Us

Mitchell County was created in 1857 from a portion of Baker County that lay east of the Flint River in the heart of Southwest Georgia. Camilla, Georgia was incorporated in 1858 and named the county seat. Mitchell County has 514 square miles of beautiful countryside and quiet towns. With only 47 persons per square mile, there remains a country air about Mitchell County. Our county is within 30 miles of the cities of Thomasville, Albany, and Bainbridge, Georgia. It is located conveniently close to North Florida, South Alabama, and two state capitals, Tallahassee and Atlanta. With various means of transportation available, Camilla is easily accessible to the business traveler and tourist alike.

With over 96,000 acres of farmland, Mitchell County ranks high among Georgia counties in agricultural production. Farming is its most important industry, which generates over $162 million for Mitchell County. An abundance of water, fertile lands, and an extended growing season make Mitchell County a prime location for farming and agri-business. Local farmers produce a wide variety of crops including cotton, peanuts, pecans, sweet corn, soybeans, vegetables, pine trees, livestock, and broilers. Most of these crops are further processed in Camilla, thereby adding employment and profit to the county. Camilla enjoys a strong economy that is bolstered by the continuing addition of new businesses. From industry and agri-business to service and retail enterprise, Camilla and Mitchell County boast a pro-business environment. Local government works closely with the business community to stimulate the economy.

The Mitchell County School System is committed to providing challenging educational programs and equitable learning experiences so that all students achieve learning, thinking, and life skills necessary for success. The system consists of 4 schools: Mitchell County Primary (grades Pre-K-1st), Mitchell County Elementary (grades 2-4), Mitchell County Middle (grades 5-7th) and Mitchell County High School (grades 8-12th along with the Career Academy).

Teacher groups across all grades continue to collaborate to align curriculum and to develop common assessments. These common assessments provide students opportunities to demonstrate mastery following instruction through various tiers of safety net interventions offered, including Intersession. These and other curriculum decisions are guided by the Curriculum Coordinating Council (CCC), a collaborative team comprised of representatives from all schools and outside stakeholders as well.
The Mitchell County School System is an equal opportunity provider and employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in admission to its programs, services, or activities.