School Board » About Us

About Us

The Mitchell County School System Board of Education is elected by citizens to represent the community’s voice on education matters and to set the vision for the school district. Our board spends countless hours fulfilling its responsibilities and working together to continually improve our education system.

As the men and women citizens elect to represent them in education matters, school boards represent a continuing commitment to local citizen control and decision-making in education.

The men and women serving our school district are:
District 1: Mrs. Kim Scott
District 2: Mr. William Murray
District 3: Ms. Patricia English
District 4: Mrs. Terri Heard
District 5: Mr. Robert Williams
District 6: Mrs. Barbara Reddick, Chair
At-Large: Mr. Jewell Howard, Vice-Chair

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system and disbursing school funds.

As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students.
MCSS Policies: Click on the link to view a list of all MCSS Policies and to find out more information about each policy. 
MCBOE Board Norms